Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.


Department of Insurance, Securities and Banking

Non-Depository Institutions Operating in DC

To verify Non-Depository financial institutions such as mortgage lenders, brokers, loan originators, money transmitters, money lenders, check cashers, retail sellers, consumer sales finance, student loan servicers, appraisal management companies, and non-bank automated teller machines are licensed to operate in the District of Columbia please use the NMLS Consumer Access portal. 
NMLS Consumer Access is a free service for consumers to confirm that the financial-services company or professional with whom they wish to conduct business is authorized to conduct business in their state.

The following Federal and State-chartered banks operate in the District of Columbia:

Bank of America, National Association
BNY Mellon, National Association
Capital Bank, National Association
Capital One, National Association
CIBC National Trust Company
Citibank, National Association
Citizens Bank, National Association
City First Bank, National Association
City National Bank
First National Bank of Pennsylvania
Forbright Bank (formerly Congressional Bank)
Founders Bank
HSBC Bank USA, National Association
Industrial Bank
John Marshall Bank
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association
MainStreet Bank
Manufacturers and Traders Trust Company
Peoples Bank
PNC Bank, National Association
Presidential Bank, FSB
Sandy Spring Bank
TD Bank, National Association
The Bank of New York Mellon
The National Capital Bank of Washington
The Northern Trust Company
Truist Bank
United Bank
Wells Fargo Bank, National Association
Wilmington Trust, National Association